Photo Credit: Andy Hughes

Radkey Releases Scorching New Single


Photo Credit: Andy Hughes
Photo Credit: Andy Hughes

Meet The Next Royal Blood / Black Keys

These three brothers, 20 year-old Isaiah Radke (bass), 17 year-old Solomon Radke (drums), and 21 year-old Dee Radke (vocals/guitar) from Missouri are about to change the rock ‘n roll landscape. They deliver fresh, pure rock music with an absolutely distinctive and powerful sound.

Make sure you Like RARAsFarm’s Facebook Page and Follow us on Twitter for rock music coverage.

A few months ago, I was headed out to see Rise Against, and got there early enough to catch the evening’s opening band, and they blew me away. “Radkey are three young brothers from St. Joseph, who defy categorization. They absolutely embody everything that is great about rock ‘n roll. They are different for sure, and in rock music, different is so damn rare these days, and in this case, oh so welcome.” Read the full show review HERE.

Today, they take the next step in their rock ‘n roll odyssey with the release of the title track from their forthcoming debut full-length Dark Black Make-Up.

The brothers Radke are not your typical rock band, they’re from Missouri, they’re home schooled, they’re brothers, they’re young (all under 21) and they’re African-American, but the most critical trait is that they are passionate about their craft and true to themselves, as we see on “Dark Black Make-Up.”

On the single (available here: Dark Black Makeup – Radkey) we witness them beginning to mature as artists on a gritty rocker with socially conscious lyrics. It’s a hard-driving rocker built around Dee’s deep voice. It’s a hard-driving aggressive track with ample touches of punk and garage rock. “That song is about how much of your teenage years can just be such a waste,” says Isaiah, “If you spend all of your time not caring about anything just because you think you’re not supposed to then you’re probably leading such a boring life… Do something. It’s annoying that you can’t necessarily change the fucking world at that age, but you can make your own situation better. Stop wasting time;” incredibly mature for a trio of their age.

Check out “Dark Black Makeup” here:

The album produced by Ross Orton (Arctic Monkeys) will hit the streets on August 21st, and will feature 13 tracks including a few reimaged tracks that may be familiar. “We wanted to show people that you can still make a proper rock record,” explains Isaiah, “Something that is both super catchy and super heavy. We want people to hear it and think Fuck Yeah! Mostly we just try and only write songs that we love—that we love the shit out of—and that way it never gets boring and it never feels like a drag to play them live. It seems like a simple thing, but we really just want to make the music that we want to hear.”

Dark Black Makeup Tracklisting

1. Dark Black Makeup
2. Romance Dawn
3. Love Spills
4. Parade It
5. Best Friends
6. Le Song
7. Hunger Pain
8. Feed My Brain
9. Sank
10. Song of Solomon
11. Evil Doer
12. Glore
13. Feel

Pre-order the album below:

Also, check out our preview of 12 Can’t Miss rock bands this summer for soe more thoughts on this fantastic new band, as well as a bunch of other artists you need on your Summer 2015 radar: 2015 Rock Concerts

Rock On!

Okay, well if you made it this far in the article, you are obviously a rock music fanatic like the Rock And Roll Animals at RARAsFarm. Do us a big favor and like our Facebook page for future updates, rock news and photos. Thanks and please spread the word to other intelligent, creative, beautiful music fans like you 🙂


Share your thoughts, we'd love to hear...