River City Extension Surfaces with New Song

River City Extension Readies New Album

I remember walking through the Social in Orlando a few years ago after wrapping up an interview with the sadly under-appreciated Drowning Men. On my way out, an eight-piece band crammed onto the postage stamp sized stage captured my attention.

Make sure you Follow our Twitter or Like our Facebook at the top of our site for more rock music coverage.

River City Extension were pure genius, a talented collection of diverse musicians playing their own very unique brand of rock music. So, I grabbed a beer or three and settled in to see what they were all about. (See that review here)

On that night, the talented band members traded off between at least fifteen different instruments, including trumpets, violins, mandolins and banjos.  Guitarist Joe Michelini fronted the octet, wrote the music and handled most of the vocals, although there were a few nice boy/girl arrangements. He has a distinctive voice, which was one of the highlights to the critically acclaimed album they were supporting on that tour. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger was a masterpiece that finished #3 on our Best Albums of 2012 year-end review. And, for the three years since, we’ve been waiting for the new release.


Well, the wait is just about over, as their new release, Deliverance will hit the streets on March 10, 2015.  The new album features ten tracks and boasts a new feel for the band as New Jersey native Michelini is working in more of a pure collaborative band atmosphere.

To get a glimpse of what the new quintet sounds like, take a listen to the first song off of the album, “Something’s Gotta Give.” It’s definitely a different feel from their last album, offering some of the traits that made Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger so special, while at other times moving in a totally new direction. I’m tempted to say that it’s a bit cacophonous, but in an all so endearing way. Interesting stuff. Check it out: Something’s Gotta Give

Rock On!

Okay, well if you made it this far in the article, you are obviously a rock music fanatic like the Rock And Roll Animals at RARAsFarm. Do us a big favor and like our Facebook page for future updates, rock news and photos. Thanks and please spread the word to other intelligent, creative, beautiful music fans like you 🙂


Deliverance Album Cover
Deliverance Album Cover


Track Listing:
01) Something’s Gotta Give
02) Man of Conviction
03) Ohio
04) Indian Summer
05) I Wouldn’t Worry
06) Deliverance Pt. 2
07) Girls
08) White Blackmail
09) Vox Populi
10) I’m Not There

Share your thoughts, we'd love to hear...